Catholicism, Life, Unschooling

Questions

“When we pray, the voice of the heart must be heard more than that proceeding from the mouth. “- Saint Bonaventure

I seem to have spent my whole life trying to make sense of the balance between heart and mind, soul and intellect.

There doesn’t have to be a dichotomy of course, yet I have tried to seek a balance, to see where the distinction is between the two.

It has been the writing of Saint Bonaventure that has helped me see the importance of heart, of love, whereas my natural tendency has been to rely solely on intellect and reason.

To take the safe route.

Yet in unschooling I chose what may seem to be seen as the unsafe route, a way of educating without school methods, a way of melding life and learning.

And as the youngest Unschooler begins study at university, I ponder what unschooling and St Bonaventure have taught me.

To allow for love, for passions, in our lives. Yes, even in the daily life of lists and chores and work. And most especially in the big picture, of goals and dreams.

In talking with our Unschoolers about life and goals, I have learned that it is the questions that are important. Like Socrates, we can ask questions and leave the thought for pondering.

And in doing so, we can help our Unschoolers use their reason and listen to their hearts.

What is your passion?
What do you love?
If everything else in your life was not a consideration, if you didn’t need to be practical, what would you do? Where would you live? How?
What book or movie makes you sigh with love and longing?
What saint and saint’s writing most appeals to you? Why?
Deep inside, what do you want? And if you don’t know forever, what about now? What is fun? What is intellectually stimulating?
And what does God want? Have you prayed? Have you asked? Have you given this to Our Lady, and asked for her intercession?

The last is a clincher for me.

These are not your typical career counselling questions. But then unschooling is not your typical means of education or, indeed, of life.

And in asking these questions I, too, have sought answers. For me.

That’s how unschooling works, isn’t it?

20130228-174818.jpg

2 thoughts on “Questions”

  1. I find these young adult years the hardest times of my motherhood, Leonie. I want them to follow their dreams and still have the security they would have had along the safe route. I find it easy to encourage our children to follow their dreams while they have years of uni ahead of them, but harder to trust as the time to find work gets closer. But, then, I trust more when I pray more – that last clincher!

    God bless:-)

  2. I have found that I love the teen and young adult years…definitely more angst but so good to have people around with whom you can discuss and have fun! I think the trust comes with easier with experience…the more of my kids who graduate and go on to work etc, the more I see it works. With the last, I must be very mellow! lol!

Leave a Reply

