Unschooling

And to finish….On Books

To finish off this roll of posts, to piggy back onto the Nice Girls and 33 Days posts…have you noticed a theme?

What all these posts have in common is BOOKS.Image

Have a life issue? Read a book.

Solve a problem? Read a book.

Relax ? Read a book.

Hang out with your kids? Read a book. Or talk about a book. Or watch a  movie based on a book.

Unschooling? Share books. Live books.

Books have been the core of our unschooling adventure.

When the boys were little, I used to say, semi tongue in cheek, that all our homeschooling happened at bed time. I would read bed time stories or chapter books and before we knew it, we would be talking and looking up words in the dictionary and finding up facts in the encyclopedia or on Google and looking at maps…

Even now. Even tonight.

As most people drift to bed, Anthony debates the merits of reading more of Jane Austen’s Emma or re-reading A.A. Milne’s Winnie the Pooh. Winnie the Pooh wins tonight, with chuckles and reminisces and Alexander talking of his recent reading of our edition of Winnie the Pooh in Latin and sharing of phrases..Christopher Robin, walk around with an umbrella and say tut-tut, it looks like rain.

“When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading, just as I did when I was young.” Maya Angelou

2 thoughts on “And to finish….On Books”

  1. So true, Leonie! And once again it is so amazing how our lives are intersecting. A friend gave me the 33 Days to Morning Glory book just a few days ago and I started it today. Picture it, I am dogsitting, have walked the lovely dogs and sat on the coach with a beautiful longhair dachshund on my lap and read the first day. Love reading in the homes where I sit as there are no distractions.. just me, the dogs and the book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

