Life

How To Bake A Phone Book and Other Christmas Things

We baked one of our phone books on Christmas Day. With friends.

A new family tradition.

Why, you ask?
It started with one of our Christmas presents to son Nick. A book called “Man Skills – Things to Make a Bloke Less Crap”. It’s a scream!

One section tells how to rip a phone book in half with your bare hands – and no, not via the binding. That is the easy way. The book must be rpiped horizontally.
Well, the men here at Christmas lunch failed this test – even with we women reading the instructions out loud and giving helpful hints (“its all in the wrist”).

“Man Skills” came to the rescue with a cheat’s version. Simply bake your phone book first – in a very hot oven. Until dry and brittle.
Wow, my friends made me pre -heat my oven. This is a first. I never pre-heat. I always ignore that part of the recipe.
Sadly, even with a preheated oven and a well presented and attractively baked phone book, our men failed the phone book test.
Plus ~ don’t get me started on the underpants activity that followed ( won’t post those pics, in order to protect identities…).
But at least I can bake a mean phone book – I’ll pass on the recipe, if you’d like.

And now, today is Boxing day, the day after Christmas, the feast of St Stephen. We had a fabulous Christmas Day, two Masses, lots of visitors, food, family, fun…Probably too much food. 🙂
So today was clean up time. And then, while dh went for his jog and the kids were busy with playing or reading or using Christmas presents, I decided to give myself a workout treat.
I did the whole 90 minute Ultimate Taebo workout.
I usually don’t find time for a 90 minute workout. 60 minutes is my workout time, a bit less if I’m really strapped for time. But I have wanted to do this whole workout – bought it a few months ago and usually do only 60 minutes of it. Did 70 minutes once.
Except for today. I did the whole 90 minutes – it was COOL!
My post Christmas treat to myself ( and a good way to work off some of that extra food! lol!).
10 thoughts on “How To Bake A Phone Book and Other Christmas Things”

  1. lol, Pam and Molly! You’ll have to email me – or maybe I should just go ahead and post pics! It was all ood clean fun. :-)Enjoy the Christmas season.And the dress is my “60s one” – I feel like Agent 99 ( Get Smart) when I wear it. 🙂

  2. I love the title of the book! I need a copy for Andrew. Just the title gives me the giggles.I, too, am now entirely curious about the underpants.Sounds like a lot of fun. I clicked on one of the pics to blow it up. I love that your Brandy Custard is our Egg Nog. Plus, I love that your Christmas present to yourself was a 90 minute workout. God love you, Leonie! I think my present to myself would be a long, uninterrupted nap!Oh, and do check out LOST. I really think you will love it. We had a very DR. Who Christmas with the Seasons 2 & 3 on DVD and I got dh a Tardis USB hub, and both dh and Andrew sonic screwdriver replicas…they LOVE them!Merry Christmas.Rachel

  3. HI Leonie–I never know what I will find when I click to your blog!! lolToo much fun and if you email privately about the underpants you must include me! :)Cindy

  4. Oh, I can see that I’ll have to post about the underpants…:-)Rachel – we got Dr Who series 3 for Xmas ( have series 1 znd 2) and a Dejeuenne voice changer and the Dr Who annual and encyclopedia. Already have the sonic screwdriver, the walking Dalek, many other paraphanalia lol! I’ll check out LOST – we got Life in Mars also for Xmas – sci fi/cop drama starrng the actor who plays the Master in the recent Dr Whos. Very good, so far ( thanks, Pam, for the suggestion!). Good to “see” you, Cindy! ( Waves..).

Leave a Reply

