Filling that page

Sitting in Mass on a Saturday in January. Reading the reflection provided by Father.

With what shall I fill the page of my life, my year?

With whatever it is that God wants.

“I think of this new year as a white page given to me by Your Father on which He will write, day by day, whatever His Divine good pleasure has planned. I shall now write at the top of the page with complete confidence Dominie, fac de me sic it vis, Lord, do with me what you will, and at the bottom I already write my Amen to all the proposals of your Divine will.” Sr. Carmela of the Holy Spirit.

That is the excitement of a new year. The not-knowing.

It can be frightening, I know. Yet it can also be freeing. Being open to His will, and being open to serendipity, can mean that our lives, and the lives of our family, are strewed with possibility.

In prayer and contemplation I like to think of adding something to our lives. Many resolutions at this time of year are riddled with don’ts or I won’ts or I musts (eat more vegetables, drink less alcohol, give up carbs, not be grumpy or angry or despairing..). It is freeing, however, to give these don’ts or wants in prayer and to think of things to add to our lives.

Turn on music. Hire some DVDs. Go to the library for new books. Declutter and see what amazing new-to-you, once forgotten, discoveries you make.

Dance. Sing. Cook. Enjoy a home-cooked meal or salad, eaten slowly, with family or with friends or even on your own with a good book.

Find movements that make you smile, that make you feel like a child. That makes you feel tough and cool and oh so athletic.

Start a family journal or scrapbook or blog or animoto or iMovie.

This is not the year for shoulds and musts and don’ts. This is the year of being with Him and of where that takes you and of, in the meantime, strewing your life and the life of your family with interesting things.

20140104-220150.jpg

2 thoughts on “Filling that page

  1. Hello…I found you through looking up some Catholic unschooling articles. I did read *The Little Way* some time ago and will be picking that back up, but for some reason…I think you are in there : )?

    I love that quote from Sr. Carmela. I have *Divine Intimacy* and I share much in there with my Carmelite community.

    Maybe it’s mid homeschool year and I am just feeling the burden of it all…maybe my depression is just a bit worse than usual…but I am just feeling tired of homeschooling. I have ONE child to homeschool and I am finding it too much.

    We joined a wonderful online Classical academy that is very flexible and very tailored…but now I don’t want to keep up with it all.

    Anyway, I am dumping way too much here. Just wanted to let you know that I am glad I came upon your blog. And I need to go do some more reading : )

    Blessings~

    • Hi Therese!

      Yes, I am in The Little Way! I hope you enjoy the re-read!

      We have an Unachooling Catholics email list at yahoo if you are interested in joining. And a Catholic Unschoolers Facebook group too.

      Very happy to chat more!

      Leonie

Leave a Reply

